Stay Hungry (1976)


“Your grandmama. She’d come right out of the picture on the wall and drive a butcher knife through your heart.. and I would help her.” – William

Number of Times Seen – 1 (12 Jun 2018)

Brief Synopsis – An heir to a fortune tries to stop a business syndicate from taking over a gym that he owns.

My Take on it – In my quest to try and watch all of Arnold Schwarzenegger’s films, I came across this one that also stars Sally Field and Jeff Bridges.

This was a terrible film that makes no sense what so ever.

The very talented Fields and Bridges are wasted here in silly roles.

I’m still shocked that Arnie was able to get a Golden Globe Award for Best newcomer for this role because he doesn’t do much here and what he does do comes across really poorly.

The story itself is extremely silly and lacks anything that resembles something interesting for the viewer to even care about.

The bodybuilder scenes shown towards the end seem completely out of place.

Suffice it to say, there isn’t anything good that I can say about this film that I can easily state is a complete turkey!

Bottom Line – Terrible film that makes little to no sense. Complete waste of the talents of Bridges and Field. Not sure how Schwarzenegger got a Golden Globe as Best newcomer for this film because he is terrible in this very strange role.  The story is completely silly and lacks anything of interest. The bodybuilders seem completely out of place here and there is really nothing good to say about this turkey.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Jeff Bridges recalled a cut workout scene, in which he was doing toe raises, and Arnold Schwarzenegger was riding on his back for weight. However, due to the head-on camera angle it appeared that a sex scene was occurring between the two men. Bridges laughed uproariously at the take, and was disappointed that it was cut from the film. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy (2/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Stay Hungry (1976)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1976 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.