The Devil Wears Prada (2006)


“[to Andy] You sold your soul to the devil when you put on your first pair of Jimmy Choos, I saw it.” – Emily

Number of Times Seen – at least three times (27 Sep 2006, video and 21 Aug 2019)

Brief Synopsis – A journalism graduate takes a job as an assistant to a ruthless editor of a fashion magazine in order to boost her career.

My Take on it – This is a film that I’ve seen a few times and have always enjoyed watching it due largely to the amazing performances of Meryl Streep and Anne Hathaway in the two very diverse lead roles.

They are both perfectly cast in these roles and they manage to give us so much to savor y the way that they portray these characters in a very realistic way.

Streep was nominated for an Oscar for Best Actress for her work here and deservingly so because she gets this kind of character so well.

The story is able to say so much about what can happen when one begins a new career and how it can be easy to get so drawn in to work that it can affect other aspects of life along the way if one isn’t careful.

I am very far from being someone who understands the intricacies of the fashion world and many of those parts of the film went way over my head, but I still was able to get a general idea as to what they are referring to with regard to the fashion industry.

This is a film that is mostly a drama in the way it looks at life and the fashion world, yet they manage to sprinkle in enough humor along the way to keep things enjoyable and fun throughout.

Bottom Line – Really fun film that works on numerous levels. Both Streep and Hathaway are perfect for these roles and they give us so much to savor with their performances. Streep was nominated for an Oscar for Best Actress for her work here and it’s quite deserving. The story is able to say so much about what can happen when you unexpectedly get drawn into a new profession and how it can take control of your life if you aren’t careful. Not knowing much about fashion, much of those aspects of the film went right over my head but I could get a general understanding of what they are trying to say about the industry throughout. The movie is mostly a drama but is peppered with lots of humorous moments that help keep things grounded. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – On the first day of filming, Meryl Streep told Anne Hathaway, “I think you’re perfect for the role. I’m so happy we’re going to be working together.” Then she paused and followed it up with, “That’s the last nice thing I’ll say to you.” And it was. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy (7/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “The Devil Wears Prada (2006)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2006 | MovieRob

  2. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Actress – Oscars 2006 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.