The Father (2020)


“Who exactly am I?” – Anthony

Number of Times Seen – 1 (1 Apr 2021)

Brief Synopsis – A man must try and deal with the reality of getting older and feeling mixed up and confused by everything happening around him.

My Take on it – This is a movie that I’ve been interested in seeing for months and am glad that I finally got a chance to finally see it.

It has been nominated for 6 scars and 6 BAFTA’s this year including Best Actor for Anthony Hopkins and Best Supporting Actress for Olivia Colman.

The themes explored in this film are quite compelling and they find ways to try and help make the audience understand the confusion of dementia and other memory loss afflictions.

The story is told is a brilliant way that keeps the viewer on the edge of the seat especially once they realize that they need to try and find a way to sort of reality from what is going on in the character’s mind.

This movie is perfect from the casting standpoint and Hopkins gives one of his very best performances in his storied career with this character.

If I was a voting member, I would forego the sentiment for the current Best Actor frontrunner and vote for this stellar performance which blows away any other performance in 2020.

The story is presented in a unique and fascinating way that helps create such a powerful sentimental movie that works on so many levels and gives the viewer an attempt to understand a phenomena that most people can relate to or will have to relate to during their lifetime.

I can’t wait to see this again in the near future in order to have a clearer perspective on all that transpires here.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Florian Zeller wanted Anthony Hopkins specifically for the part. He sent Hopkins the script in 2017 and waited for a reply. In the meantime, he did not pursue production with any other actors in the lead role. He said if Hopkins had not agreed to the film, then it likely would have been made in French instead (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (10/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “The Father (2020)

  1. Love that you enjoyed this so much Rob! I wasn’t keen on seeing this but I make an attempt to watch at least all the Best Picture nominees. This blew me away – it started out fairly generic but once it got confusing I was hooked. That last scene was absolutely heartbreaking.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | The Lamb Devours the Oscars 2021 – Best Picture – The Father

  3. Pingback: The Father (2020) – Encore Review | MovieRob

  4. Pingback: The Father (2020) – Encore Review 2 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.