Greenberg (2010)


“I was thinking this morning that I’ve been out of college now for as long as I was in, and nobody cares if I get up in the morning.” – Florence Marr

Number of Times Seen – Twice (7 Jul 2010 and 21 Apr 2021)

Brief Synopsis – A neurotic man house-sits his brothers house while they are away and begins to fall in love with his brother’s personal assistant.

My Take on it – This is a film that I saw not long after it originally came out yet didn’t remember much about it so I decided to give it another try.

The story itself is told in an interesting way.

Ben Stiller is perfectly cast in the title role and helps bring this character to life before our eyes.

Unfortunately tho, the story itself isn’t fascinating enough and it’s easy to get bored of these characters very quickly because they aren’t really developed in a way where we can care for them or anything that they might do.

The story plays out in a strange way and doesn’t find a voice along the way which takes so much away from the kind of impact that this kind of movie could possibly have which is a bit of a shame.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Greenberg protests that he is not actually Jewish because his mother was Protestant. He is referring to a strict interpretation of Jewish law which holds that inherited Jewish descent is matrilineal, but that limited view is only taken by the most Orthodox Jews. Most practicing Jews in the United States belong to the Reform movement, which accepts anyone born to a Jewish parent of either gender as Jewish (as well as converts).(From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy (5/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.