Genre Guesstimation – The Waterboy (1998)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s genre has been chosen by Jason Stershic of Agent Palmer and we will be reviewing our favorite College Themed Movies..

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of Feb by sending them to collegejason@movierob.net

Tnx Jason!

Try to think out of the box!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of College Themed Movies ………

“Now that’s what I call high quality H2O.” – Bobby Boucher

Number of Times Seen – 1 (15 Feb 2022)

Brief Synopsis – After discovering that has very high level football abilities, the team waterboy is placed on the team and must endure ridicule by the other players.

My Take on it – Another fun Adam Sandler film that has a lot to say. The story plays out well and the way that they focus on the comedy is so much more helpful in keeping this so engaging and enjoyable. The verbal and physical comedy work well together here and enhances the way it all plays out. Loved seeing Henry Winkler in this! Kathy Bates tho is scary as Sandler’s mother.

Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Henry Winkler’s role as Coach Klein came about after he was mentioned in Adam Sandler’s huge hit “The Chanukah Song”, where Sandler sang about various Jewish or half-Jewish entertainers. Sandler said, correctly, that the actor who played Arthur “Fonzie” Fonzarelli on Happy Days (1974) is Jewish, and Winkler was thrilled by the reference and contacted Sandler to tell him so. Sandler then decided to ask Winkler if he would read the script for the coach’s role, and then say if he wanted to take the part. Winkler did so and immediately signed on to the film. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Not really. It has its moments, but doesn’t go beyond that.

Rating – Globe Worthy (7/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.