Assault on Precinct 13 (2005)


“I’m looking at this as a matter of simple mathematics. We walk in and those 8 people survive and 33 lives are destroyed. The lives of my men and their families, people I’m responsible for, people I… people I love.” – Marcus Duvall

Number of Times Seen – Twice (6 Nov 2005 and 24 Feb 2022)

Brief Synopsis – A group of cops and prisoners are trapped in a building under siege and must try and find a way to survive the night.

My Take on it – Great story that works well even if it isn’t as good as the original was. The cast does a great job here and Ethan Hawke and Laurence Fishburne both do wonderful jobs with what they are given. Due to the premise of having corrupt cops in the mix, they allow for some fun twists and turns that add to the suspense and tension of everything that takes place here. The way that they update some of the things that happen for a more modern society and for technology also adds so much to the way things are portrayed.

Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – This is an updated remake of Assault on Precinct 13 (1976) which was itself a remake of Rio Bravo (1959). Incidentally the soundtrack features several songs sung by Dean Martin who co-starred in (and sang the theme tune to) Rio Bravo. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy (7/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.