Genre Guesstimation – Happy Valley (2014)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s genre has been chosen by Tyler of the Geek Card Check and we will be reviewing our favorite Sports Themed Movies.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of Apr by sending them to tylersport@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Sports Themed Movies..

“Beacon of integrity is kinda scary.” – Joe Paterno

Number of Times Seen – 1 (3 Apr 2022)

Brief Synopsis – Documentary about the allegations and controversies that transpired at Penn State for decades and the repercussions of it all.

My Take on it – This film does a superb job telling the story of what happened but more importantly, discussing the repercussions of it all and how that affects so many people’s lives. They get a great debate going about whether these repercussions were justified or not and are able to show that nothing in life is black or white and how difficult it can be to know the absolute truth of everything that happens. They have some great interviews with key people in the story and do a great job presenting the story from a pretty balanced standpoint. The story is extremely powerful but something is slightly missing that would have made it even more astounding.

Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Jury Prize Winner for Best Documentary Feature at the Sarasota Film Festival. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Comes really close. Amazing film that tells such a powerful and scary story.

Rating – Globe Worthy (8/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.