Genre Guesstimation – The Driver (1978) – Encore Review


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s genre has been chosen by David of BluePrint: Review and we will be reviewing our favorite Car Chase Films….

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of May by sending them to Carchase@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Car Chase Films….

“You know what I’m gonna do? I’m gonna catch me the cowboy that’s never been caught. Cowboy desperado.” – The Detective

Number of Times Seen – 1 (24 May 2023)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – An expert getaway driver for robberies is pursued by an obsessive detective.

My Take on it – Such a fun and thrilling film that works on multiple levels. Ryan O’Neal is great as the lead character and helps make things feel quite realistic in all that transpires here. The story is straight forward, yet has some nice twists and turns along the way that adds s o much as it plays out. The choice to not give any of the character’s names and to just refer to them by their occupation is great and adds even more to the mythos of this kind of story. The chase scenes are choreographed and filmed really well and help keep the viewer on the edge of their seat the entire time.

Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – According to Wensley Clarkson’s book, Tarantino – The Man, the Myths and His Movies, Quentin Tarantino lists this as one of the “coolest movies of all time.”(From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Not quite. Comes really close tho and is quite thrilling to watch.

Rating – GLobe Worthy (8/10) (no change from original review)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.