Genre Grandeur July Finale – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood… (2019) – Encore Review 4 – MovieRob


For this month’s final review for Genre Grandeur – Movies About Making Movies (Real or Fictional), here’s a review of Once Upon A Time in Hollywood… (2019) by Me

In case you missed any of the reviews, here’s a recap:

  1. Hail, Caesar (2016) – Paul
  2. Electric Boogaloo: The Wild, Untold Story of Cannon Films (2014) – David
  3. A Star is Born (1954) – J-Dub
  4. Wes Craven’s New Nightmare (1994) – Darren
  5. Stardust Memories (1980) – David
  6. Saving Mr. Banks (2013) – Rob
  7. RKO 281 (1999) – Sally
  8. 8 1/2 (1963)David
  9. Pain and Glory (2019) – Paul
  10. Get Shorty (1995) – Rob
  11. Directed By John Ford (1971) – Emily
  12. The Last Movie (1971) – David
  13. Babylon (2022) – Paul
  14. This Film is Not Yet Rated (2006) – Rob
  15. Hitchcock (2012) – Paul
  16. Day For Night (1973) – David
  17. Once Upon A Time in Hollywood… (2019) – Paul
  18. Once Upon A Time in Hollywood… (2019) – Rob

In addition, I watched 8 movies in my companion series Genre Guesstimation. unfortunately, three of those films will now be considered among my favorites in the genre.

  1. Hooper (1978)
  2. *Silent Movie (1976)
  3. Swimming with Sharks (1994)
  4. Quantum Leap – Disco Inferno (1989)
  5. The Fall Guy – Pilot (1981)
  6. Stunts (1977)
  7. The Player (1992)
  8. *Keep Punching: The Present Meets the Past (2021)
  9. *Directed By John Ford (1971)

Next month’s genre has been chosen by Todd Liebenow of The Forgotten Filmcast and we will be reviewing our favorite Movies Featuring Biker, Bikes or Motorcycles.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of Aug by sending them to biker@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box!

Let’s see what I thought of this movie:

___________________________________________________

“Don’t cry in front of the Mexicans.” – Cliff Booth

Number of Times Seen – 5 (9 Aug 2019, 5 Feb 2020, 16 Aug 2021, 3 Apr 2023 and 31 Jul 2023)

Link to original reviewHere, Here, Here and Here

Brief Synopsis – A movie star and his stunt double try to deal with getting older in Hollywood in the late 1960’s.

My Take on it – Such an amazing look at the life of both an actor and a stunt double at a very important time in Hollywood. Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt are both perfectly cast here in these roles. Pitt deservingly won an Oscar for his work in this film which once again shows that Quentin Tarantino is a master at writing supporting characters who can go on to win Oscars.  The story is a re-imagining of the era and has lots of shots of some of the popular actors of the day seamlessly brought together with the fictional ones here. Tarantino manages to perfectly capture the era and the people of the era that it all feels so realistic and genuine the whole way through. The story takes some license with some real events and for those familiar with what really happened, this is a great look at what could have been.  Still curious what Tarantino will bring us next because he’s definitely been on a roll for his whole career.

Highly Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – While scouting for locations, Tarantino visited Lee Van Cleef’s home. While there, he noticed a giant poster of Van Cleef’s face hanging in his garage. Tarantino thought this was both funny and strange, and decided to give Rick Dalton the same thing on his driveway. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (10/10) (no change from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Genre Grandeur July Finale – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood… (2019) – Encore Review 4 – MovieRob

  1. I love this film. It came during what was a terrible period for me at the time as my dad had passed away weeks before the film came out. I didn’t expect this film to move me that much as I felt like I was transported to a time that I wasn’t even born but it felt like a world that my dad had been into. I thought about him a lot during this film as I was in awe of everything as I know he would’ve loved this film as one of the last films he had seen before his passing was Django Unchained which he thought was one of the greatest westerns he had ever seen.

    Like

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.