Genre Guesstimation – 13 Assassins (2010)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s genre has been chosen by David of BluePrint: Review and we will be reviewing our favorite Films featuring Swordfighting.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of May by sending them to engarde@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Films featuring Swordfighting……

“No mercy! There’s no samurai code or fair play in battle! No sword? Use a stick. No stick? Use a rock. No rock? Use your fists and feet! Lose your life, but make the enemy pay!” – Kujuro Hirayama

Number of Times Seen – 1 (7 May 2024)

Brief Synopsis – A group of Samurai join forces to try and stop a sadistic warlord.

My Take on it – Such a great epic film that works quite well. The story plays out in a great way as they slowly gather together the group of warriors together into a single fighting force trying to overcome a much larger one. The actions scenes are superbly shot and add so much realism to the story as it moves along. The way that this is a no holds bar fight and how none of the characters are immune enhances the story so much because we can easily understand their motivations and their willingness to give their lives for the cause.

Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The opening sequence of this film is a shot by shot recreation of the 1960s era original. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Come quite close. Great idea that manages to show how a small skilled force can help overcome a much larger one.

Rating – Globe Worthy (8/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

One thought on “Genre Guesstimation – 13 Assassins (2010)

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.