Sleeping Beauty (1959)


sleeping beauty“Now, father, you’re living in the past. This is the 14th century!” – Prince Phillip

Number of Times Seen – No Clue (27 Feb 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A young princess is cursed by a Sorceress that she will die before her 16th Birthday.  Three good fairies change that spell to her falling asleep until her true love kisses her.

My Take on it – After spending the last week or so trying to finish watching all Oscar Best Picture winners before my self-imposed deadline on Sunday night, I decided to take a break for a day and watched 5 (yes 5!) Disney animated movies that I loved as a kid.

Very action packed and also scary Disney animated movie.

I recall having nightmares of Malificent when I was a kid.

Was impressed with myself that I remembered that Sleeping Beauty and the Prince had real names ; Aurora and Phillip.

What’s interesting is that I thought the story took less time to get to its climax than it actually does.  As with many fairy tales, the love story happens too fast, but I liked it never the less.

This movie is another Disney movie that “borrows” from Fantasia (1940)’s chapter about The Sorcerer’s Apprentice and has many enchanted household furnishing doing work on their own.

Typically strong Disney fare.  Brings a memorable fairy tale to life.

Bottom Line – Good action for an animated feature. Very memorable fairy tale brought to life by Disney.  Recommended!

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here

2 thoughts on “Sleeping Beauty (1959)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1959 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.