Elysium (2013)


index“Now, if you will excuse me, I have to not speak to you people any longer. Thank you.” – John Carlyle

Number of Times Seen – 1 (12 Nov 2013)

Brief Synopsis – In the distant future, wealthy people have left the planet to live on an isolated space station that provides them with everything they need.  Unfortunately, life isn’t so good for the poor people left on Earth.

My Take on it – I have wanted to see this for a few months and truthfully didn’t enjoy it as much as I had hoped for.

I thought it was quite cool that the technology is somewhat futuristic but not completely sci-fi like.

The idea of showing a bleak future where the strong (rich) still feed off the weak (poor) is not new, but it was interesting to see how they portrayed it in this movie.

I think Matt Damon was good in this role, but I kept getting flashes of Jason Bourne in my mind throughout and his character is obviously in no way similar to Bourne.

Jodie Foster was ok, but I think she was completely wasted here, she was miscast as the Secretary of Defense but it was nice to see her in front of the camera again.

The story here is pretty weak and I must say so it the action.  This is truly just a mediocre futuristic action movie.

Bottom Line – Mediocre action movie that takes place in the future. Damon and Foster are ok, but nothing more than that.

Rating – Globe Worthy

5 thoughts on “Elysium (2013)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.