Robocop (2014)


 robocop-2014-banner“It’s not personal, I just don’t like you as a person.” – Alex Murphy

Number of Times Seen – 1 (29 Apr 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A police detective injured in the line of duty is made into a cyborg to help protect the city.

My Take on it – As a kid, I loved the original movie and when I re-watched it recently, I wasn’t as impressed as I was back then.

I had hoped that this re-make would be better and it is in certain ways, but overall it doesn’t bring too much to the storyline.

The thing I did like about this movie was how they added in the whole ethical issues aspect.

The action and technology are cool, but in general the narrative and storyline are just mediocre.

I liked the few “nods” to the previous movie including the line “I’ll buy that for a dollar” 🙂

This movie is a perfect example as to why it isn’t always smart to remake a movie.

Bottom Line – Interesting re-make.  Deals with lots of moral questions that the original didn’t even try to tackle. Ultimately it’s just a mediocre movie.

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

6 thoughts on “Robocop (2014)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  2. A better remake than I ever expected. Sounds like faint praise, I know, but it does truly mean that this flick is alright and has some interesting qualities about it. Good review.

    Like

  3. Haven’t seen this yet. I pre-ordered the blu-ray. Good job on the review. Still looking forward to it even though I’m pretty sure I won’t be floored or overly-impressed by it. Thanks!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.