The Lost World: Jurassic Park (1997)


 jurassic-park-2“Oh, yeah. Oooh, ahhh, that’s how it always starts. Then later there’s running and screaming.” – Dr. Ian Malcolm

Number of Times Seen – at least 5 times (Theater in ’97, video, DVD and 13 Jul 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A new group of explorers travel to a second dinosaur island in hopes of rescuing a fellow scientist.

My Take on it – After the success of the original movie, I recall the hype surrounding this sequel also Directed by Steven Spielberg.

Unfortunately, this was such a disappointment both then and now.

The story is quite weak and the characters are not as likeable as the ones in the previous movie.

This movie was such a deviation from the plot points that we all loved in the original and felt like an excuse to let a T-Rex rampage thru San Diego.

The best part of this movie is the stellar cast led by returning Jeff Goldblum and Richard Attenborough. Vince Vaughn, Julianne Moore, Pete Postlewaite, Arliss Howard and Richard Schiff round out the rest of the cast.

Thankfully, the franchise was redeemed 4 years later.

Bottom Line – Very disappointing sequel that seems to have only been made because Spielberg must have desperately wanted to make a monster movie where a creature terrorizes a town. Story doesn’t really work too well either. Cast is the best part of it.

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

14 thoughts on “The Lost World: Jurassic Park (1997)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Woah, woah, woah–you think this is worse than the third one?! That surprises me! I actually liked this one pretty well and was not at all impressed by the third. I mean, this one isn’t as good as the first, of course, and the T-Rex in San Diego is really silly, but…it’s just fun. Plus, I love Jeff Goldblum. Lol. This one may actually be getting a mention on my blog some time soon… 😉 Good review, my friend!

    Like

  3. Does seem strange that Spielberg returned to direct this rather misguided idea, doesn’t it? I think I like this one a fair bit more than most because I just can’t get enough of the dinosaurs but yeah it’s definitely a far inferior version. I didn’t think the third part was much better, even if it had a more effective and intimate cast in that one

    Good review man

    Like

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1997 |

  5. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – October 2018 – Jeff Goldblum

  6. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – August 2020 – Richard Attenborough

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.