When the Game Stands Tall (2014)


when-the-game-stands-tall-wide-2“Love means you can count on me, in good times and bad.” – Coach Bob

Number of Times Seen – 1 (19 Nov 2014)

Brief Synopsis – Based on the true story of a high school football team who (to this day) hold the record for the longest consecutive win streak of 151 wins.

My Take on it – I actually enjoyed the pacing and the way the games were shot in this movie because they were done in a way that despite this being based on a true story, you never can guess what the outcome of each individual game will be.

I liked the parallels brought forth in this story to other examples of brotherhoods and teamwork.

The cast was pretty good and helped bring together the inspirational message that we are meant to take with us.

The problem that I had with this one tho, was the fact that a number of scenes felt way too preachy and they slightly took away from the way the rest of the movie was presented.

Bottom Line – Inspirational sports film that would work even better if it didnt feel so preachy. Solid cast, great sports action and a great message about teamwork. Recommended!

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “When the Game Stands Tall (2014)

  1. I usually really dig sports films (i am a bit of a sports fan in my time away from movies and blogging) but this one I just couldn’t get behind at all. Jim Caviezel is even a guy I like but here I thought he was just atrocious, the script was clumsy and like you observed, really preachy and dramatic. Great read anyway, good to see someone sing some praises for it.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.