Genre Guesstimation – Miracle on 34th Street (1994)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of holiday themed movies…

miracle“We invite you to ask yourself this one simple question: Do you believe in Santa Claus?” – C.F. Cole

Number of Times Seen – 1 (28 Dec 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A man claiming to be the real Santa Claus tries to inspire people to believe in the magic of Christmas.

My Take on it – Pleasant remake of the classic that really was unnecessary since it isn’t as good as the 1947 version.

Why do Hollywood executives believe that there is always a need to take movies that work so well and try to reinvent them for later generations; all you have to do is rewatch the original.

This movie is good, but it lacks the magical feeling of the original and its really a shame that someone felt it was necessary to make.

Richard Attenborough is great as Kris Kringle, but the rest of the cast is just ok.

Watch the original!

Bottom Line – A completely unnecessary remake because it doesn’t come even close to reigniting the magic of the original.

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Nope. Not nearly as magical as the original and despite having the same basic plot, just doesn’t work as well.

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Miracle on 34th Street (1994)

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur December Finale – Scrooged (1988) – MovieRob |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1994 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.