October Stephen King Blogathon – Day 25 – 1408 (2007)


 This is my 25th of 31 reviews of Stephen King adaptations as part of the joint Blogathon that Darren (of Movie Reviews 101) and I are running this month in honor of the great horror writer.

Stop by every day to read more and more from us and from other guest bloggers.

_______________________________________________

1408“Look, I’m not telling you not to stay in that room for your own good or for the profit of the hotel. Frankly, selfishly, I just don’t want to clean up the mess” – Gerald Olin

Number of Times Seen – 1 (19 Oct 2015)

Brief Synopsis – A writer who specializes in proving that ghosts don’t exist takes on his newest assignment in a haunted room of a New York hotel

My Take on it – I know I keep saying this over and over this month, but the truth is that the horror genre is by far one of my least favorite genres and I don’t usually get much pleasure out of watching these kind of movies.

This one was actually done OK, but I can’t say it was interesting enough to keep me enthralled throughout.

The premise itself is slightly stranger than I’m used to and I’m still not sure which of the multiple endings is the most satisfying.

Thankfully, I didn’t find this at all scary, so I was able to laugh off most of the “scariness”

John Cusack and Samuel L. Jackson are both excellent here (as usual).

Bottom Line – Not my favorite genre, but I did think this was done ok in general.  Can’t say it was very scary tho.  The premise is a bit of a strange one and I’m not completely sure which ending I like the best because I found neither of them satisfying.  Cusack and Jackson are both great here.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – There are many references to the number “13” throughout the movie. The room is numbered “1408”, add each number together equals 13. The room is on the 14th floor, and the Hotel skips the 13th floor, so the room is technically on the 13th floor. The room’s key lock also has “6214” etched into it, which adds up to 13. And the first death was in the year 1912, which adds to 13. Even the film’s American release date sums to 13: June 22, 2007. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

5 thoughts on “October Stephen King Blogathon – Day 25 – 1408 (2007)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2007 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.