I Spy (2002)


i spy“Hey, I can see you, and me, and you, and… oh, I like this! ” – Kelly Robinson

Number of Times Seen – 1 (22 Nov 2015)

Brief Synopsis – A spy is teamed up with a boxing champion in order to recover a stolen jet.

My Take on it – As a kid, I was able to watch many reruns of popular tv shows from the 60’s and 70’s just about every day.

One of these shows was I Spy with Bill Cosby and Robert Culp and I recall enjoying it very much.

The remake follows in the footsteps of most tv remakes created for the screen and it really sucks.

I’m not sure why they chose to cast Owen Wilson and Eddie Murphy in this film. They have no chemistry together what so ever and even when they argue (like most great movie partners do), its just so uninteresting.

The plot seems to look like it should work, but it actually just fails miserably for lots of unknown reasons.

Watch the original show instead.

Bottom Line – Good concept on paper that just doesn’t work. Murphy and Wilson have so little chemistry that even their banter is boring to hear. Cosby and Culp did this so much better.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The original script had Kelly Robinson as a basketball player, but due to Eddie Murphy’s stature it was decided to change him to a boxer. The interchange about the Harlem Globetrotters remained, however. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “I Spy (2002)

  1. The way cinema is marketed these days, it is a huge boost to have a name like Murphy. Unfortunately, it probably could have been better cast but then, who would see it? One of those unfortunate things. Maybe movie studios should grow a pair and cast talented newcomers that fit the role. Again, would they lose at the box office? Vicious circle.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2002 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.