Purple Rain (1984)


 “Nobody digs your music but yourself!” – Billypurple rain

Number of Times Seen – 1 (10 May 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A young singer tries to make it big despite family issues and rivalries within his band

My Take on it – After Prince’s recent untimely death, I wanted to finally see what this movie was all about.

I had heard the soundtrack but never knew what the story of the movie itself entailed.

I actually found this movie extremely borng and tedious to watch because the story and characters come off as being extremely weak and wooden.

The movie feels more like a way to give another platform for his great music than give us a coherent or interesting movie.

Like I said earlier, great music….

Here are two of his songs from the film:

Bottom Line – Has some great music. The story is really weak tho and none of the characters are developed enough. Feels too much like a concert than a movie with a coherent story.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Clarence Williams III, Olga Kartalos, and Apollonia Kotero were the only professional actors in the entire cast. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

6 thoughts on “Purple Rain (1984)

  1. Yeah I’m with you. The music is great but the film isn’t up to much and pitching it as a happy ending when he gets back the girl he’s been physically and emotionally abusing left a really sour taste in my mouth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1984 |

  4. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – May 2016 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.