“Forced” Movie #9 – Holes (2003)


This is the ninth of 12 films that I was “forced” to watch by my fellow bloggers who participated in my Blogiversary Contest last month.  This movie was the 2nd one chosen by the winner SG.  Tnx for the suggestion.  Let’s see what I thought of it….

holes-2003 “You girl scouts want to hear a story? Once apon a time there was a magical place where it never rained. The end. ” – Mr. Sir

Number of Times Seen – 1 (18 May 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A young boy is sentenced by the court to a work camp where they spend all day digging holes in the desert after wrongfully being accused of stealing a pair of sneakers.

My Take on it – This is a movie that I had never heard about before this was suggested to me by SG.

The premise seemed interesting and I was looking forward to seeing what it was all about.

Unfortunately, the story doesn’t feel original enough and most of the “surprises” could be seen miles and miles beforehand.

The cast was pretty good, but they all seemed to play quirky characters that were all very one-dimensional instead of being developed even better.

Bottom Line – Wanted to like this more, but it feels too average. many of the “surprises” were easy to guess.  The cast was ok, but nothing special.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – A screenplay was initially written by Richard Kelly, who greatly departed from the source material by writing a dark, violent adaptation of the story set in a post-apocalyptic world. The studio reportedly found the script far too disturbing for a children’s movie, rejecting it in favor of the final script written by the novel’s author, Louis Sachar. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

10 thoughts on ““Forced” Movie #9 – Holes (2003)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2003 |

  3. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – October 2019 – Sigourney Weaver

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.