Genre Guesstimation – National Treasure 2: Book of Secrets (2007)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s Genre has been chosen by Damien of Riley Central we will be reviewing our favorite Adventure Movies.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of May by sending them to damienadventure@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box!

Great choice Damien!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Adventure Films…

nat treasure 2“Ben, if it were you trying to convince me, you’d have less evidence and I’d already believe you by now. .” – Riley Poole

Number of Times Seen – 2 (2 May 2008 and 23 May 2016)

Brief Synopsis – Ben and his team must try and find a way to prove his ancestor’s innocence in the assassination of Abraham Lincoln.

My Take on it – Once again, they did a great job of merging fact and fiction here in order to give us a great mystery thriller.

The historical clues were fun to follow along with as we searched for the treasure together with the characters.

Ed Harris is a great actor, but I prefer him as the good guy and as interesting a character as he was here, Sean Bean was a better villain in the first one.

I am always amazed at the amount of research that goes into making movies like this in order to make it feel as plausible as possible.

American History buffs like me love seeing this done in movies.

Was quite glad to see both Ty Burrell and Bruce Greenwood pop in here in small but very significant roles.

Am quite interested to see what they plan for the next movie in the trilogy that has been stuck in the planning stages for years.

Bottom Line – Sequel is almost as good as the original and they once again expertly lay out a great list of historical clues to lead the way.  Harris was an ok villain, but I think Bean was still better.  Loved the amount of research that went into making these movies in order to merge fact with fiction. Great seeing Ty Burrell and Bruce Greenwood in small but significant roles. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – As stated in the commentary, experts were brought in to match the handwriting of Abraham Lincoln, Queen Victoria and Calvin Coolidge. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Like the original, it’s close, but as much as I enjoyed this movie, it isn’t good enough to be among my favorites of the genre.

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

7 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – National Treasure 2: Book of Secrets (2007)

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur May Finale – Castaway – Riley on Film |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2007 |

  3. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – January 2021 – Nicholas Cage

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.