Movies From the Hat IV – #4 – Jay’s Pick – Starter For 10 (2006)


This is my 2463rd Review

Thanks to Jay of Life Vs. Film for this recommendation.


starter for 10“The people who really care about you don’t mind if you make mistakes. It’s what you do next that matters. ” – Julie

Number of Times Seen – 1 (29 Aug 2016)

Brief Synopsis – A college student in the 80’s tries to live his dream of finding love and also using his trivia knowledge to get ahead.

My Take on it – When Jay recommended this film, I was a bit concerned that it would be too British for me and that I wouldn’t enjoy it at all.

Thankfully, the opposite happened; despite not knowing much about England during the 80’s, I enjoyed this nostalgic trip back to my favorite decade.

The music and clothes of the 80’s are represented quite well here and I felt transported back to the decade of my youth quite easily.

Also, the fact that I’m a trivia buff helped me enjoy it also because this film is truly all about pointless knowledge that we all acquire over the years and don’t know what to do with besides play trivia games.

The ultimate message of the film is great and I found myself contemplating things for a while after watching it because it hits the nail on the head so well.

The cast is superb and I was so surprised as to how many of them I easily recognized.

Bottom Line – Very British film that I expected to not enjoy at all but was pleasantly surprised when the opposite happened. Great cast. Love the trivia aspect of the film and the fact that it’s VERY 80’s. Amazing 80’s soundtrack helps make it so nostalgic. Great message rings true long after watching. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Despite the fact she plays Brian Jackson’s mother, Julie Jackson, Catherine Tate is only 11 years older than James McAvoy. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “Movies From the Hat IV – #4 – Jay’s Pick – Starter For 10 (2006)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2006 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.