Genre Guesstimation – Highlander (1986)


 

The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

Next month’s Genre has been chosen by Gill of WeegieMidget Reviews We will be reviewing our favorite Movies Filmed in (or take place in) Scotland

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of Nov by sending them to scottishgill@movierob.net  Try to think out of the box! Great choice Gill!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Scottish Movies…

highlander“I apologize for calling your wife a bloated warthog, and I bid you good day. ” – Connor

Number of Times Seen – at least twice (Cable in the 80’s and 14 Nov 2016)

Brief Synopsis – An immortal man must try to find a way to live his life where everyone he knows and loves live normal lives while being pursued by other immortals who wish to kill him.

My Take on it – I recall seeing this sometime in the 80’s and not being overly enthusiastic about the movie.

Since this months Genre Grandeur theme is Scottish movies, I figured it was time to check this film pout again to see if my memories of it are perhaps a bit skewed.

Unfortynately, they aren’t.

I can see how this kind of film can become a cult classic, but it really is too overrated.

The story isn’t compelling enough and in general, it doesn’t feel unique in any way.

Yes, Sean Connery is great here (when is he not tho) and despite being a supporting character in a mentor role, he is what I will always remember about this movie because the rest just isn’t as memorable.

Beside Connery, the rest of the cast all give very over-the-top kind of performances and that is yet another reason for the cult following, but I found them all to actually take away from the enjoyment instead of add to it.

This film is lacking heart and just feels like an average fantasy film which does the fight scenes well, but not much else.

Bottom Line – Definitely an overrated cult classic that really isn’t as good as the hype would make it out to be. Connery is great here, despite his role of mentor is a supporting role.  The rest of the cast give very over-the-top performances that take away from the enjoyment. Overall, this is just an average fantasy film that has some good fight scenes, but is lacking in heart.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – All of Sean Connery’s scenes had to be filmed in a week due to Connery’s schedule. He had a bet with director Russell Mulcahy that they would not finish in seven days, but Mulcahy won the bet. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Not by a longshot.  This film is too overhyped and just doesn’t live up to its reputation.

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Highlander (1986)

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur November Finale – The Angel’s Share (2012) – WeegieMidget |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1986 |

  3. Pingback: The Lamb’s May 2020 MOTM – My Rankings | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.