Valley Girl (1983)


valley-girl“All right, but when they attack the car, save the radio. ” – Randy

Number of Times Seen – At least 5 times (Cable in the 80’s, 26 May 2009 and 22 Nov 2016)

Brief Synopsis – Two teens from different worlds meet and fall in love but now they must try and find a way to stay together despite the differences between the societies they come from.

My Take on it – This is a film that I recall seeing numerous times on cable as a kid and enjoyed it quite a lot.

Upon rewatching it now tho, it’s clear that it doesnt stand up to my teen memories.

Ultimately, this is an 80’s version of Romeo and Juliet where instead of the Montagues and Capulets we get punk rockers and valley girls.

The amount of predjudice between the groups is interesting and is helpful in keeping the conflict fresh the whole time.

The chemistry between a very young Nicholas Cage and Deborah Foreman is almost completely non existant and I was actually rooting against them getting together the entire time. 

Guess I’ll just have to rely on my good memories for this one.

Bottom Line – Average 80’s take on Romeo and Juliet where star crossed lovers must find a way to overcome prejudices. The chemistry between Foreman and Cage is almost non existent. Not as memorable now as I thought it was as a teen.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – This was a comeback of sorts for Nicholas Cage who was fired from the lead role in Fast Times in Ridgemont High that same year.  (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Valley Girl (1983)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1983 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.