Temporal Top Ten – 1983


1983

top ten

Number of movies seen from this year – 95
Number of movies reviewed – 53 (including 4 Encore Reviews)

My #1 for this year is a true no-brainer for me because out of the thousands of films that I’ve seen in my lifetime, this is the one that I have seen the most time (probably over 50 times).

As a 9 and 10 year old when this was in the theater, I saw it at least 14 times on the big screen.

Of the 5 Best Picture nominees that year, 3 made my list and they scored very high positions (#2, #3 and #5)

I wasn’t the biggest fan of Tender Mercies and have yet to see The Dresser (maybe one day)

My #4 is the latest addition to my repertoire of this list although I had heard of it for years.

#6, #7 and #10 are all classic comedies that are always funny no matter how many times you watch them.

Rounding out my list are a popular gangster flick and a Disney version of a classic tale.

Update 4 Jun 2017 – From Star Wars to Jedi is added at #8 bumping every subsequent film down one notch

 

My Top Ten

 christmas story

Honorable Mention –  A Christmas Storymickey

10. Mickey’s Christmas Carolscarface

9. Scarface

8. From Star Wars to Jedi trading places

7. Trading Placesto-be-or-not-to-be6. To Be or Not To Be

big chill

5. The Big Chillkennedy

4. Kennedyterms of endearment

3. Terms of Endearmentright stuff

2. The Right Stuffjedi

1. Star Wars Episode VI: The Return of the Jedi

Here’s a complete list of movies that I’ve seen from 1983

  1. All the Right Moves
  2. BMX Bandits
  3. Bad Boys
  4. Big Chill, The
  5. Bill Cosby: Himself
  6. The Black Stallion Returns
  7. Blue Thunder
  8. Brainstorm
  9. Breathless
  10. Christine
  11. A Christmas Story
  12. Class
  13. Cross Creek
  14. Curse of the Pink Panther
  15. Cujo
  16. D.C. Cab
  17. Daffy Duck’s Fantastic Island
  18. Dead Zone, The
  19. Deal of the Century
  20. Doctor Detroit
  21. Dresser, The
  22. Easy Money
  23. Eddie and the Cruisers
  24. Educating Rita
  25. Flashdance
  26. From Star Wars to Jedi: The Making of a Saga
  27. G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero
  28. Gorky Park
  29. High Road to China
  30. The Hunger
  31. I Am the Cheese
  32. Jaws 3-D
  33. Kennedy
  34. Krull
  35. Local Hero
  36. Lone Wolf McQuade
  37. Lords of Discipline, The
  38. Losin’ It
  39. The Man Who Loved Women
  40. The Man with Two Brains
  41. Max Dugan Returns
  42. Mickey’s Christmas Carol
  43. Monty Python’s The Meaning of Life
  44. Mr. Mom
  45. My Tutor
  46. National Lampoon’s Vacation
  47. Never Cry Wolf
  48. Never Say Never Again
  49. A Night in Heaven
  50. Octopussy
  51. The Osterman Weekend
  52. Outsiders, The
  53. The Pirates of Penzance
  54. Porky’s II: The Next Day
  55. Private School
  56. The Right Stuff
  57. Risky Business
  58. Romantic Comedy
  59. Rumble Fish
  60. Running Brave
  61. Savage Island (Nate and Hayes)
  62. Scarface
  63. Silkwood
  64. Smokey and the Bandit Part 3
  65. Something Wicked This Way Comes
  66. Spacehunter: Adventures in the Forbidden Zone
  67. Special Bulletin
  68. The Star Chamber
  69. Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi   Encore Review  Encore Review 2 Encore Review 3  Encore Review 4
  70. Staying Alive
  71. The Sting II
  72. Strange Brew
  73. Strange Invaders
  74. Stroker Ace
  75. Sudden Impact
  76. Superman III
  77. The Survivors
  78. Tender Mercies
  79. Terms of Endearment
  80. Terry Fox Story, The
  81. Testament
  82. To Be or Not to Be
  83. Tough Enough
  84. Trading Places
  85. Trenchcoat
  86. Twilight Zone: The Movie
  87. Two of a Kind
  88. Uncommon Valor
  89. Under Fire
  90. Valley Girl
  91. WarGames
  92. The Wind in the Willows
  93. Yellowbeard
  94. Yentl
  95. Zelig

 

7 thoughts on “Temporal Top Ten – 1983

  1. Some excellent choices. 1, 2, 6, and 9 are among my favorites, though I also really like Yentl, WarGames, and Octopussy. Oh, and Cross Creek. Haven’t even heard of 10 though; is it good?

    Like

    • Haven’t seen Yentl in a long time, but I had trouble with a lot of the way it portrayed Jews. Probably should rewatch it.

      Wargames just missed the cut and as much as I loved Octopussy, it isn’t top ten material.

      Gotta rewatch Cross Creek one of these days because I dont remember it at all

      Like

    • I understand where ur coming from. Its usually all a numbers game based on when we were born. Which is why I probably will never be able to justify doing this prior to 1980 (I was born in 74) yes. #1 is awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten |

Let me Know what you think!!

