Star Wars Episode VI: The Return of the Jedi (1983) – Encore Review 3


“Remember, a Jedi’s strength flows from the Force. But beware. Anger, fear, aggression. The dark side are they. Once you start down the dark path, forever will it dominate your destiny. Luke… Luke… do not… do not underestimate the powers of the Emperor or suffer your father’s fate you will.” – Yoda

Number of Times Seen – At least 50 times, if not more (yes, I said 50 times) (17 times in the theater, Cable, video, 12 Oct 1992, DVD, Special Edition in Theater in 1997, 19 Jan 2014, 24 Apr 2015, 4 Jul 2016 and 6 Mar 2017)

Link to original reviewHere, Here and Here

Brief Synopsis – Luke Skywalker and friends plan a daring mission to rescue Han Solo from the clutches of Jabba the Hutt.

My Take on it – This is the movie that I’ve seen the most in my life and I obviously practically know it all by heart.

I have even reached the point where I can listen to the amazing music from John Williams by itself and I can visualize the scenes in the film that those tracks are played over.

It’s great to be able to watch how George Lucas successfully made better movies as the technology developed along with his ideas.

Yes, I know that ILM was creating special effects originally for him, but these movies actually helped perpetuate the need and also the popularity of special effects in films.

Lucas has always been an amazing storyteller and despite not being the best writer of actual dialogue, his themes, messages, characters and plot devices are amazing.

This film was able to create real closure for the saga and journey that we all began to partake in just 6 years earlier and the ending is done very powerfully.

The story works extremely well because it is also action packed yet filled with endearing moments between the characters that have made most of them so iconic in the 34 years since this film came out.

The world created here feels so lived in that it is quite believable as a place where these kind of things could really happen.

This film introduces us to even more characters and species that we hadn’t encountered previously and that also helps create such a rich world for these characters to inhabit.

Loved the editing of the three simultaneous battles during the climax of this film since we still can easily identify what is going on.

Twenty years ago, Lucas was able to once again use technology to enhance his original trilogy and the added scenes and effects really do just that’; they enhance an already amazing movie.

Personally, I’m glad that these effects were added because it takes the experience to even higher levels.

Eventhough, it has been nearly 34 years since I first saw this in the theater, I still recall the feeling I had back then when those iconic words flowed across the screen… and I hope never to forget those feelings.

Bottom Line – Amazingly done by Lucas to help give us a great story complete with a powerful ending to the saga.  Amazing special effects that were unprecedented at the time.  Story works so well because it is action packed yet gives us so much more about that galaxy far far away. Great new characters help create such a lived in world.  Williams’ music here is superb and I can listen to it over and over and it even allows me to visualize the scenes.  I’m glad they created the Special Editions of the original trilogy because it really allows the story to work better because of the added effects.  Highly Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia –  At the time, the climactic battle in outer space featured more optical effects in one scene than had ever been previously committed to film. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (no change from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

10 thoughts on “Star Wars Episode VI: The Return of the Jedi (1983) – Encore Review 3

  1. I would also be a huge fan of the world created by Lucas – And with everything thats followed, from games to animated shows to spin off movies, I would like to hear your view on the prequels? A lot of individuals tell a different tale when asked in a group of fans, rather than in a private discussion. 🙂

    Like

      • Ha I only asked because I would also be in the minority of fans that enjoyed them. I loved the first one (and yes, Jar Jar was not a great character, but never would the film be ruined because of him), and then of course the second was a bit sappy – but it was all leading to the third, which in my opinion, was unbelievable. I’ll check out your reviews. 🙂

        Like

  2. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – March 2017 |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1983 |

  4. Pingback: Star Wars Episode VI: The Return of the Jedi (1983) – Encore Review 4 |

  5. Pingback: Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi (1983) – Encore Review 5 |

  6. Pingback: Star Wars Episode VI: The Return of the Jedi (1983) – Encore Review 6 | MovieRob

  7. Pingback: Star Wars Episode VI: The Return of the Jedi (1983) – Encore Review 7 | MovieRob

  8. Pingback: Star Wars Episode VI: The Return of the Jedi (1983) – Encore Review 8 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.