Genre Guesstimation – Kennedy (1983)


The idea behind this new feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of BioPics…

kennedy“And so, my fellow Americans: ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country.” – John F. Kennedy

Number of Times Seen – 1 (20-27 Oct 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A detailed account of the two years that JFK was in office mainly focusing on The Bay of Pigs, Civil Rights and The Cuban Missile Crisis.

My Take on it – One of my gripes about many biopics is that they don’t have the time and length to flesh out characters and go into detail about the main character.

This movie has neither of those problems.

It was a TV miniseries that lasted 3 nights and had a 6 hour runtime without commercials.

It gives the viewer a detailed account of 3 main actions that happened during the short JFK presidency.

In addition, we get intimate knowledge of how influential and supportive his extended family was in order to accomplish as much as possible while holding the White House.

I liked how each part focuses mainly on one major event and we got first hand knowledge of what (supposedly) really happened behind those closed doors.

Martin Sheen is great as JFK and I so often kept forgetting that I was watching JFK and not not Jed Bartlett because of his presidential style.

I have no doubt that this role helped him get the lead role of The West Wing just 15 years later.

Bottom Line – Excellent biopic that details so much in it’s 6 hour run time. Sheen is great as JFK and I have no doubt that he was cast as Jed Bartlett upon seeing how presidential he seemed here. Highly Recommended!

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Most definitely. One of the best Biopics, I’ve ever seen that really takes the time dealing with the short time JFK was in office.

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

6 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Kennedy (1983)

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur Finale – Europa Europa (1990) |

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – October 2014 |

  4. Pingback: MovieRob’s Top Ten for Newly Viewed Pre-2014 releases |

  5. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1983 |

  6. Pingback: The Toptober Tens #28 – Film Portrayals of Real Presidents |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.