89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #71 – Henry V (1944)


movierob-oscars1

In my attempt to have a more prolific repertoire of Oscar Nominated Films, I have taken it upon myself to watch 89 new Best Picture Nominees that I’ve never seen before between 1 Dec 2016 and The 89th Annual Oscars on 26 Feb 2017.

Here is my 71st review of the 89 chosen Films…


henry-v“We few, we happy few, we band of brothers; For he to-day that sheds his blood with me Shall be my brother; be he ne’er so vile, This day shall gentle his condition; And gentlemen in England now-a-bed Shall think themselves accurs’d they were not here, And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks That fought with us upon Saint Crispin’s day..” – Henry V

Number of Times Seen – 1 (8 Feb 2017)

Brief Synopsis – Adaptation to the screen of Shakespeare’s play about the young King of England who wished to conquer France in 1415.

My Take on it – I’ve never been the biggest fan of Shakespeare, but I have enjoyed many of the movies based on his work mostly because I’m a more visual person than one who can understand his written texts.

They did a wonderful job here of adapting this story especially due to the fact of when this was made.

I really liked the way that they mixed live action scenes with scenes depicting the play being performed in Shakespeare’s famous Globe theater because it gives us an impression of what the audiences of yore seemed to see when these plays were performed back then.

This was Sir Laurence Olivier’s first fore into adapting a play by The Bard for the screen and he does a great job presenting the play to us this way.

This film was able to prove to everyone at the time how viable it was to adapt a Shakespearean play for the screen.

I liked Kenneth Branagh’s version better, but this was done extremely well for its time.

Bottom Line – Great production of a Shakespearean story for it’s time. Liked the way it mixes live action scenes with scenes done on a stage to give us an impression of what people saw at The Globe.  Olivier does an amazing job here presenting the play.  Proved that to everyone at the time that it was indeed possible to make a film based on Shakespeare’s work and make it economically viable.  Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The filming of a battle scene was stopped in order for the company to watch while overhead a group of British fighters attacked a formation of German bombers on their way to bomb London. When the real battle passed out of sight, the movie battle resumed filming. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “89 Days of Oscar Nominees – #71 – Henry V (1944)

  1. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 1946 |

Let me Know what you think!!

