3000th Review!!!!! Movies From the Hat V #51 – Vinnie H.’s Pick – Body Double (1984)


This is my 3000th Review!!!!

Thanks to Vinnie H. of Vinnie’s Movie Blog for this recommendation.

Here are his thoughts on the film.

“Don’t be so melodramatic. ” – Sam

Number of Times Seen – at least twice (cable in the 80’s and 29 Mar 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A struggling B-Movie actor house-sits for a friend and begins to spy on a female neighbor through a telescope.

My Take on it –I actually recall seeing this movie as a kid on cable, but I doubt I understood what it really was about.

This is the kind of film that would have been perceived as being much better when it came out in the 80’s because this film is very cheesy 80’s fare.

The premise presented here is interesting, but has been reused so much over the years that it just isn’t as powerful as it probably could be.

The story is a bit thrilling, but doesn’t stay thrilling enough for enough of the runtime.

The cast here is average and no one really stands out in any way.

Melanie Griffiths has a pivotal role here and this was actually one of her earliest roles.

Bottom Line – Probably was much better when it came out due to its cheesy 80’s feeling.  The premise is ok and it doesn’t really remain thrilling long enough. The ideas used here have been reused so many other times since which have lessened the impact of what they do here.  The cast feels quite average, but it was interesting seeing Griffiths in such an early role.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Dennis Franz based his portrayal of Rubin the Director on Brian De Palma. (From IMDB)

Rating –  BAFTA Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

9 thoughts on “3000th Review!!!!! Movies From the Hat V #51 – Vinnie H.’s Pick – Body Double (1984)

  1. I feel honoured having my suggestion make your 3000th review. I don’t think it’s vintage De Palma, but I had a good time with the style and music. I don’t think his movies are for everyone though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1984 |

  4. Congrats on 3000! DePalma’s style makes this most interesting, along with the film noir vibes. I like watching films from other eras and imagining I haven’t seen the films that duplicated it. In other words, I try to watch them with the eyes of the time (ie: Citizen Kane. Seven Samurai. John Woo’s The Killer… The original Point Break 😉 hehehe). That said, some decades are ‘cheesier’ than others, but damn if I don’t love some 80s vintage cheddar 😉

    Here’s to 3000 more!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.