Navy Seals (1990)


“If I were going to be careful, I’d have joined the Coast Guard… ” – Ramos

Number of Times Seen – Between 5-10 times (Theater in ’90, video, cable, 22 Dec 2004 and 18 Apr 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A team of elite soldiers are sent to the Middle East in order to stop a terrorist from using stolen American weapons.

My Take on it – This film is a true guilty pleasure of mine.

I recall seeing it in the theater when it coming out and being extremely excited by the way it was done.

The cast is great and I especially enjoyed the very distinct personalities of the team members.

The way that Michael Biehn and Charlie Sheen’s characters are shown so diverse helps keep things quite interesting throughout.

The action here is non-stop and I loved how you feel as if you are right in middle of all of the action, never knowing what will happen when and to whom as things move forward.

This film was able to do for the Navy what films like Top Gun (1986) and Backdraft (1991) were able to do for Naval Aviation and Firefighting and many people joined up just by seeing what was depicted onscreen.

I would be lying if I said that my decision to eventually join the Israeli Army had little to do with my enthusiasm watching movies like this one.

Bottom Line – Somewhat of a guilty pleasure because its pure action with little story to support it all. Cast us great and the differences between Biehn and Sheen’s characters helps keep things interesting. This film is one of the ones that made me want to join the military because of the way it glamorizes everything. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – In an interview, Michael Biehn stated that working on this film was “probably the worst experience of my life”. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “Navy Seals (1990)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1990 |

  2. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – May 2017 – Bill Paxton

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.