Worth Winning (1989)


“Guys, a beautiful woman is one of the loneliest creatures on the face of the earth. All I need is an opening, a ticket of admission. ” – Taylor

Number of Times Seen – at least twice (cable in the 90’s and 28 Aug 2017)

Brief Synopsis – A weatherman enjoying his bachelorhood, makes a bet with his best friend that he can make 3 random women fall in love with him and agree to get married within three months.

My Take on it – I’ve always been a big fan of Mark Harmon and his films from the 80’s and 90’s were also so much fun to watch.

I didn’t really remember this film very well eventhough I know I saw it at least once on cable in the early 90’s.

Looking over the premise, I didn’t have much expectations for it, but was pleasantly surprised at how engaging and interesting this idea was in the way it was presented to us.

This film largely works well due to its great cast.

Harmon has great chemistry with all 3 leading ladies and despite the premise being slightly unrealistic, it was so much fun to watch how it all played out.

Madeline Stowe, Leslie Ann Warren and Maria Holvoe are all superb as three very different women who Harmon courts in order to win his bet.

Love the way that this film is a mix of a rom-com and an 80’s sex comedy and works quite well as both.

The story itself is done really well and despite its seemingly strange premise, it’s done with much more taste than I would have expected.

I have a suspicion that had this film been made today, they would not have been able to have as much restraint as they did back in the 80’s when they made this.

The restraint itself helps make this so entertaining.

Bottom Line – Much better than I expected it to be. Harmon is great and has great chemistry with all three of the chosen women. The story itself works really well and they do this film in a tasteful 80’s way.  If this was made now, I highly doubt they would have the restraint to keep this film so entertaining.  Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – When Taylor gets Erin’s acceptance of his proposal on tape, he also records a message for Ned. During later playbacks of that tape, new dialogue has been added. Specifically, he originally said that he is “one-third of the way to teaching you a lesson”, but later playback has added, “and winning our bet.” (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

One thought on “Worth Winning (1989)

  1. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1989 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.