Genre Guesstimation – Snowden (2016)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s Genre has been chosen by Vinnie of Vinnie H. and it is Historical True Story Films.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of February by sending them to vinnieishistory@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box! Great choice Vinnie!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Historical True Story Movies.

“I think the greatest freedom that I have gained, the fact that I don’t have to worry about what happens tomorrow, Because I’m happy with what I’ve done Today.” – Edward Snowden

Number of Times Seen – 1 (6 Feb 2018)

Brief Synopsis – Biopic of Edward Snowden, an NSA intelligence officer who released classified documents to the public regarding the government’s use of its resources.

My Take on it – This is a film that actually surprises me that I never got around to seeing before now.

I have always been a big fan of Oliver Stone’s films because of their edge and also am a fan of Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

This film does a great job showing us the events of Snowden’s life and how they all effected him in his decisions.

The non-linear way that this story is told works really well because it gives us a great perspective on the events of his life while also keeping things fresh while they continue to evolve.

Gordon-Levitt really loses himself within the role and it’s easy to forget that we aren’t watching the real Snowden instead of an actor.

Bottom Line – Gives us a great idea of how and why Snowden got to where he did in life. The non-linear way of telling this story works really well to help keep things fresh and interesting along the way. Stone does a wonderful job telling this story yet misses slightly because it doesn’t come across as being as poignant as it probably could have been. Gordon-Levitt loses himself in the title role and in some scenes, it’s very easy to forget that it isn’t the real Snowden. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Edward Snowden’s parents attended a screening of the film, and praised Joseph Gordon-Levitt for his portrayal of their son. The actor said it was the most meaningful encouragement he has ever received for a performance. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Comes close, Stone does a nice job telling this story yet it isn’t as poignant as it could be.

Rating – Globe Worthy (7/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

2 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Snowden (2016)

  1. Pingback: Genre Grandeur February Finale – Elizabeth (1998) – Vinnie H. |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2016 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.