Genre Guesstimation – Conan the Destroyer (1984)


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s Genre has been chosen by Jeanette of The Mundane Adventures of a Fangirl and it is 80’s Fantasy Films.

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of March by sending them to jeanettesfantasy80s@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box! Great choice Jeanette!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of 80’s Fantasy Movies.

“My brother’s sister’s cousin never said anything about bars. ” – Malak

Number of Times Seen – At least 5 times (Cable in the 80’s and 7 Mar 2018)

Brief Synopsis – Conan goes on a quest to help a young princess find a mysterious crystal being held by an evil monster.

My Take on it – This is a film that I recall enjoying when I saw it numerous times on cable as a kid.

Upon rewatch, I found that the film just doesn’t age very well and is actually quite an average fantasy film.

The story and plot are quite silly that in general doesn’t work very well.

Arnold Schwarzenegger returns as the fierce warrior but this film has him play the part in a much less serious fashion than he did in the previous film which turns this film into more of a farce than an action fantasy film.

The supporting cast is quite talented but even they can’t help raise the level of entertainment of this film and just help add to the sillyness of it all.

Wilt Chamberlain, Olivia D’Abo, Grace Jones, Mako and Tracey Walters all have their moments here, but none of them truly stand out

Bottom Line – Really silly film that doesn’t really work at all yet has its moment here and there. Arnie doesn’t take the rule as seriously this time and it feels more like a farce than a fantasy adventure story. The supporting cast of Chamberlain, D’Abo, Jones, Mako and Walters help add to the silliness of it all yet never manage to help make the film work any better.  Doesn’t age well at all and still remains quite average.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The production had a hard time finding a horse for Wilt Chamberlain to ride. He was so tall that his feet touched the ground. They ultimately found one in Spain that was big enough and imported it to Mexico. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Not a film that aged well at all.  It comes across as more of a farce than a reall fantasy/adventure film.

Rating – BAFTA Worthy (6/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

2 thoughts on “Genre Guesstimation – Conan the Destroyer (1984)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1984 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.