The Time Travel Blogathon – The Time Machine (2002)


This is the first of two reviews for the Time Travel Blogathon being hosted by Ruth of Silver Screenings and Rich of Wide Screen World.

Tnx for letting me take part guys!


“We all have our time machines, don’t we. Those that take us back are memories… And those that carry us forward, are dreams.” – Uber-Morlock

Number of Times Seen – 1 (10 Mar 2018)

Brief Synopsis – A scientist creates a time machine and hopes to be able to change the day that has haunted him for four years.

My Take on it – When I heard about this blogathon (very very recently), I decided that there are so many great time travel films to choose to watch and write about, but instead of choosing one of the more familiar or popular ones, I decided to try and watch two that I’ve never seen before.

I had seen the original version of this film years ago but didn’t remember much about it and was interested in seeing what they would do in a more ‘modern’ adaptation of the classic HG Wells story.

I actually quite enjoyed what they did with this film and they found a way to add more heart into it than I recall the original film ever having.

One of the ways that they did this was to give the main character more of a reason to create and attempt time travel and I think that works really well here.

Guy Pierce is great in the lead (despite his overlong hairstyle) and managed to keep us interested in what his characters does the entire time.

I feared that since this was a modern remake of the story, they would alter it in strange ways, but from what I recall of the story, they do a great job keeping to the original Wells’ storyline.

Was amazed by the fact that the director of this film is a descendant of the original author (see Trivia below) because it gives him even more reason to do the film justice since his family’s reputation is on the line here.

Bottom Line – Great idea that works really well.  Really liked the way that this film adds more heart into the original story and gives the main character a concrete reason to wish to travel back in time. Pierce is quite good in the lead role.  Despite being a remake, it still manages to stay true to the original story.  Loved the trivia fact that this was directed by the original authors great-grandson (see trivia below).  Would have enjoyed spending more time in each of the time periods visited by the main character. Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Director Simon Wells is the great-grandson of H.G. Wells who wrote the book upon which this movie is based. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy (7/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

9 thoughts on “The Time Travel Blogathon – The Time Machine (2002)

  1. Pingback: Announcing the Time Travel Blogathon – Silver Screenings

  2. Pingback: The Time Travel Blogathon – Day 3 – Silver Screenings

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2002 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.