The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension (1984)


“History is-a made at night. Character is what you are in the dark. ” – Lord John Whorfin

Number of Times Seen – at least 3 times (Cable in the 80’s and 18 Mar 2018)

Brief Synopsis – Buckaroo Banzai and his team must try and stop aliens from taking over Earth.

My Take on it – This is a film that I recall seeing a few times on cable back in the 80’s and the only thing I recalled about it was that John Lithgow plays an over-the-top character.

Upon rewatch, I can honestly say that this film was so silly and comes across as being really a terrible film.

The term terrible film is quite often synonymous with cult status and this film fits that category quite well.

This storyline is quite a mess and it’s actually a wonder that the film was approved to be made.

The biggest question I ask myself is how could they get such a talented cast for such a mess of a film.

This film stars Peter Weller, John Lithgow, Ellen Barkin, Jeff Goldblum, Clancy Brown, Vincent Schiavelli and Christopher Lloyd and I wonder how they all agreed to be a part of this really silly film.

This film has nothing of value by the way that it is presented and I’m glad that I saw it, but have no plans of ever seeing it again.

Bottom Line – Terrible, terrible film that is so silly that it makes one wonder how it was approved.  It actually makes sense that such a film would be able to garner cult status, but there is really nothing of value in the way this film is presented despite such a talented cast.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – On At the Movies (1982) in 1984, just before the film’s release, Gene Siskel correctly guessed that the movie would attain cult status. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy (2/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

6 thoughts on “The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension (1984)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – March 2018 |

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 1984 |

  4. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – October 2018 – Jeff Goldblum

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.