American Mary (2012)


“Don’t you ever devalue what you do, Mary. You make sure they deserve it, and don’t waste a minute of your time thinking about them when you’re done. ” – Lance

Number of Times Seen – 1 (2 May 2019)

Brief Synopsis – A medical student trying to make some money on the side enters the dark world of body modification.

My Take on it – This is a film that I knew absolutely nothing about before Darren of Movie Reviews 101 chose it as his pick for this month’s MOTM over at The LAMB which is highlighting films directed by women.

I thought this film was completely about something else and ended up having a very difficult time finishing it because it just got worse and worse as it moved along.

The story starts off fine but then ventures into some very disgusting and dark places that I don’t even want to try to describe or relive because they were so horrific to me.

Before viewing this film, I had no clue that there was a sub culture devoted to things like this and even the thought of creating a film to try and show these kind of people using special effects that make things look realistic is just crazy.

This was clearly too much for a non-horror fan like me.

The saddest part is that since I didn’t know what this was about, I actually started eating breakfast while watching it and nearly threw it up a few times along the way because this film disgusted me so much.

All I can say is that if someone does have an interest in seeing this kind of film, skip eating or snacking while you watch it.

Bottom Line – Terrible film that gets worse and worse as things move along. The story actually begins well but goes into some very very dark and disgusting places that are too horrific to even try to describe. I was never even aware that there was a sub culture of people like this and the idea to make a realistic looking film about the subject is just too much for a non-horror fan like me.  Don’t plan to eat or snack while watching this film.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – The Soska sisters’ parents re-mortgaged their house in order to raise money to finance this film. Moreover, both parents make cameo appearances in this movie. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy (2/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “American Mary (2012)

  1. While I am still surprised you went through watching this one, it really is one that horror fans will enjoy only, if you were to break the story down more away from the gore it is no different that somebody being drawn into an underground world before finding themselves too deeply involved in it, I also pick movies i think Jay will hate lol

    Like

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  3. Pingback: MovieRob Monthly Roundup – May 2019 | MovieRob

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2012 | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.