The 110 years of Claire Trevor Blogathon – Jimmy and Sally (1933)


This review is part of the The 110 Years of Claire Trevor Blogathon being run by Crystal of In The Good Old Days of Hollywood  and Virginie of The Wonderful World of Cinema

Tnx for letting me take part!

“Don’t you worry baby. I’ll go places just as soon as I get my big break.” – Jimmy O’Connor

Number of Times Seen – 1 (8 Mar 2020)

Brief Synopsis – A young man must decide between devotion to his craft or to his girlfriend.

My Take on it – This is another film that I had never even heard of before coming across it during my search for films to review for this blogathon.

The movie is a standard simple love story that comes across in a pretty boring way because they don’t manage to find a way to make it feel more unique.

This is quite a shame because the underlying theme of the film is one with much more potential than realized here.

They fail to develop these characters in more than a superficial way and that makes it even harder to care about what will happen to them.

Really liked the way that they presented how conflicted the characters become when trying to determine what is truly important in life.

Both James Dunn and Claire Trevor are fine here in these roles but they have very little real chemistry which makes it even harder to believe that they are meant to be madly in love with one another which is quiet a shame because that is suppose to be the backbone of the story.

The movie has some pretty good music and that does help make things a bit more interesting even if it still feels limited in the way that things unfold.

Bottom Line – Pretty boring and standard film that just doesn’t work as well as one might hope The characters aren’t developed well enough and it’s quite difficult to care about any of them. The one thing that they do well here is the way that they show how conflicted the characters are when trying to determine what is most important for them in life. James Dunn and Caire Trevor are meant to be madly in love yet they fail to have strong enough chemistry with one another that would help make their relationship more believable which is a shame. The music of the film is quite good tho and they help make this a bit more interesting to watch unfold.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Features three songs by lead actor James Dunn – It’s the Irish in Me, You’re My Thrill and Eat Marlowe’s Meats. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy (5/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

2 thoughts on “The 110 years of Claire Trevor Blogathon – Jimmy and Sally (1933)

  1. It’s too bad that film doesn’t have a better development. Well, I haven’t seen it, so I guess I would have to judge for myself eventually. Anyway, I appreciated that you discussed both its flaws and qualities. Thanks for this second contribution!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The 110 Years of Claire Trevor Blogathon is here! – The Wonderful World of Cinema

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.