The Fourth Annual Doris Day Blogathon – The Glass Bottom Boat (1966)


This is my final of 3 reviews for the The Fourth Annual Doris Day Blogathon taking place this weekend and being hosted by Michaela of Love Letters to Old Hollywood

Tnx for letting me partake Michaela!

“Donna, may I borrow a dime, please? I have to call my dog.” – Jennifer Nelson

Number of Times Seen – 1 (3 Apr 2020)

Brief Synopsis – A NASA scientist begins to believe that his girlfriend may be a Russian spy.

My Take on it – This is another Doris Day film that I’ve been curious to watch and this blogathon gave the perfect opportunity to finally do so.

Unfortunately, this is yet another terrible film that Day was wrangled into doing by her husband who signed her to the film without her consent which just doesn’t work at all.

Both Day and her co-star Rod Taylor are great actors but they have really poor chemistry with one another which hurts believing the premise of this film at all especially when they are supposedly in a budding relationship.

The film has an espionage aspect that is quite important to the plot, yet it goes much too far and by far surpasses the place of being completely ridiculous.

This makes the movie even more painful to watch unfold because it makes no sense and is completely absurd in so many ways.

The bets part of this film is the change to see Paul Lynde in a very funny role but even he can’t help make this story any more enjoyable to watch and that’s extremely unfortunate.

Bottom Line – Another terrible Day spy comedy that just doesn’t work at all. Day and Taylor have really poor chemistry in this film and it’s quite hard to believe their budding relationship. The espionage aspect of this film goes too far and far surpasses the place of being ridiculous which makes it even more painful to watch because it is completely absurd. Fun seeing Lynde in this film but even he can;t make this any more enjoyable to watch which is quite a shame.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Alice Pearce and George Tobias appear as a married couple. They were also husband and wife in Bewitched (1964). Paul Lynde, who plays Homer Cripps, also appeared in the show as Samantha’s zany Uncle Arthur. (From IMDB)

Rating – Razzie Worthy (3/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

3 thoughts on “The Fourth Annual Doris Day Blogathon – The Glass Bottom Boat (1966)

  1. This is a tough one for me. I keep watching it in the hopes that I grow to love it since I know a lot of people who do, and for the most part I do enjoy it, but it’s missing that essential spark. If only the script had been tighter and the jokes not as stretched out…

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy this one. It is probably my favorite of Day’s comedies. It’s quite zany and more like a screwball comedy than a rom-com. The cast of supporting actors give hilarious performances too. At least we agree about Paul Lynde’s contribution! Oh well, to each his own.

    Like

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.