Legally Blonde (2001)


“Because I’m not a Vanderbilt, suddenly I’m white trash? I grew up in Bel Air, Warner. Across the street from Aaron Spelling. I think most people would agree that’s a lot better than some stinky old Vanderbilt.” – Elle

Number of Times Seen – Twice (9 Apr 2004 and 8 Feb 2021)

Brief Synopsis – After getting dumped by her boyfriend, a wealthy sorority girl decides to win him back by following him to Law School across the country.

My Take on it – Fun film that isn’t as powerful as one might hope for.

Reese Witherspoon is great in the lead and is able to show how great an actress she can be with this role.

With her performance here, she put herself on the map and raised her status to the higher echelon of actors.

The story itself has been copied numerous times since this was made, but none of them managed to create such a fun story like they do here.

The character arc for Elle Woods is great and she is able to break some of the various stereotypes usually associated with this kind of character.

The courtroom scenes are a bit over the top, but still find ways to stay entertaining depsite this because of the way that the story plays out.

The supporting cast is also great with Luke Wilson, Selma Blair, Victor Garber, Ali Larter, Holland Taylor and Jennifer Coolidge all adding so much to this simple kind of story.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – A perfect score on the LSAT exam is 180, therefore Elle’s score of 179 puts her in the top 0.1 percent. (From IMDB)

Rating – BAFTA Worthy (6/10)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.