MovieRob’s Birthday Bash of Favorites 2022 (#46 of 49) – See No Evil, Hear No Evil (1989) – Encore Review


January is my birthday month, so I decided that I would try and do something quite unique and special for this milestone in my life. I will be turning 48, so I decided to watch 49 (48+1 for good luck) of my all time favorite movies in a random order over the course of this month.  I have reviewed every one of these films already, but I will now give new perspectives on them all. Every one of these films received a 10/10 scoring from me.  Some of these reviews will contain spoilers so if you have never seen them before, I recommend that you read some of my previous reviews of the film that are spoiler free before reading on…

Hope you enjoy!

This is film #46 of the 49.

Let’s continue with… 

“[to Dave, talking fast] Was there or wasn’t there a woman?” – Capt. Braddock

“Are you serious?” – Dave

“Yes, I’m goddamn serious.” – Capt. Braddock

“Fuzzy Wuzzy was a woman?” – Dave

Initial Viewing Memories – I remember seeing this in the theater when it came out because I heard the concept and thought it was amazing. To have a deaf man and blind man witness a murder is an ingenious concept, but to have the characters played by Gene Wilder and Richard Pryor is Gold!

Number of Times Seen – Too many to count (Theater in 89, cable, video, dvd, 5 Aug 1999, 1 Mar 2016 and 28 Jan 2022)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – A blind man and a deaf man witness a murder and must find the real killers before they are convicted of the crime.

My Take on it – Such an amazing premise that works hilariously due to the performances of the two leads played by Richard Pryor and Gene Wilder.

This, IMHO is the best and funniest film that either of them made either together or separately because it emits wall to wall laughter.

The way that the story plays out is done so cleverly and this allows them to really show their comic style over and over again.

Kevin Spacey, Joan Severance and Anthony Zerbe are all great as the bad guys and its great watching the duo of Wilder and Pryor constantly outwitting them again and again along the way.

The character’s personalities are so great that they both contrast with one another, but when needed they can band together and actually have their ideas and skills complement each other in order to succeed.

The film’s high level of comedy is so refreshing to watch and is done so splendidly here.

Highly Highly Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Gene Wilder went to the NY League for the Hard of Hearing to study for his role. There he was assigned to speech pathologist Karen Webb, who would ultimately become his fourth wife. (From IMDB)

Rating – Oscar Worthy (10/10) (no change from original review)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.