Genre Guesstimation – The Last Stand (2013) – Encore Review


The idea behind this feature (Genre Guesstimation) is for me to watch a bunch of new movies (or ones that I haven’t seen many times) from the chosen monthly GG genre in order to expand my knowledge of movies within that particular genre.

This month’s genre has been chosen by Darren of Movie Reviews 101 and we will be reviewing our favorite Movies That Take Place in Mexico……

Please get me your submissions by the 25th of Sep by sending them to Mexico@movierob.net

Try to think out of the box!

Let’s see if I felt that this movie would be worthy of being in the company of my others favorite movies in the genre of Movies That Take Place in Mexico….

“You’re talking to a 72 year-old man with high cholesterol, eating a bacon and cheddar omelet with extra cheddar. Do I look like I’m afraid of death?” – Diner regular

Number of Times Seen – Twice (22 April 2013 and 24 Sep 2023)

Link to original reviewHere

Brief Synopsis – A sheriff in a border town must try and stop an escaped convict and his team from crossing the border into Mexico.

My Take on it – Really silly film that fails to work on any level. This is further proof that Arnold Schwarzenegger’s career had already run its course especially when he takes on films like this one. The story and premise has so much potential, but the way that they turn it into a farce here just takes so much away form that potential. The characters are really strange and quirky and much of what happens makes no sense what so ever. The action scenes are fun but meaningless and there are many other films that are able to do similar things much better. Brightest spot here is Luiz Guzman as the comic relief.

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Starting April 12, 2023, The Last Stand was the Number 1 movie on Netflix. (From IMDB)

Genre Grandeur Worthy? – Not even close. Very silly film that makes very little sense.

Rating – Razzie Worthy (3/10) (downgrade from original review)

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

 

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.