The Beautiful Game (2024)


“Everyone has a reason for being here.” – Mal

Number of Times Seen – 1 (11 Apr 2024)

Brief Synopsis – A multinational organization creates a way for homeless people in various countries to come and play in a yearly soccer (football) world cup.

My Take on it – Fun sports film that works better than I would have expected.  The premise is great and the way it all plays out is quite believable.  As usual, Bill Nighy is superb in the lead role as a former scout who manages this team. The various stories among the players is done effectively and it comes across quite realistic throughout. The games are played out well and the fact that this film is based on real events helps enhance things in ways one might not presume.  The film has a very poignant message that is quite effective in its goal.

Recommended!

MovieRob’s Favorite Trivia – Ex-Manchester United player Bebe played in the homeless World Cup. (From IMDB)

Rating – Globe Worthy (8/10)

______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.