The Purge: Anarky (2014)


The-Purge-Anarchy-banner-1 “This is your Emergency Broadcast System announcing the commencement of the Annual Purge. At the siren, all crime, including murder, will be legal for 12 hours. All emergency services will be suspended. Your government thanks you for your participation.” – Emergency Announcement

Number of Times Seen – 1  (7 Aug 2014)

Brief Synopsis – One year after the previous movie, 5 strangers get stranded on the streets of L.A. on Purge night and must work together to survive the night.

My Take on it – I thought the first movie was interesting enough, but this one was able to take that premise and expand on it, giving us a much better idea as to what is going on in the world depicted in the movie.

To take the story to the streets was a great idea because it gives us a new level of knowledge of the Purge world. We get to see the chaos and disorder that happens on this day.

Each of the characters arrive at their situations in plausible and interesting ways and we can sympathize with their backgrounds and
motivations

The world that has been created for this film seems so interesting and I’m very curious to see where they plan on taking this series.

Bottom Line – Much better than the first one because it gives us a better idea of what is going on in their world. Characters are diverse and have interesting back stories. Am interested in seeing what else this world has for us. Recommended!

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

9 thoughts on “The Purge: Anarky (2014)

  1. While I haven’t seen either of these movies I still like to think of them as my personal guilty pleasures. I really like the premise of the series and am glad to see they went a step further this time around and took the movie to the streets. Even more reassuring is your observation that “each of the characters arrive at their situations in plausible and interesting ways.” In a lot of these horror movies the set up is terrible and the characters end up trapped in the drama for ridiculous and unbelievable reasons. I’m glad this movie set the suspense up well. Hearing that you like the movies makes me want to see them even more.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  3. Pingback: Flash Review #2: Purge the Only End | Flashback/Backslide

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.