Iron Man (2008)


2008-Iron-Man-06_1024-868007“[reading the newspaper] Iron Man. That’s kind of catchy. It’s got a nice ring to it. I mean it’s not technically accurate. The suit’s a gold titanium alloy, but it’s kind of provocative, the imagery anyway.” – Tony Stark

Number of Times Seen – 2 (6 Sep 2008 and 8 Jan 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A weapons manufacturer kidnapped by terrorists creates a suit that will keep him alive and fight against injustice.

My Take on it – I truly enjoy well made superhero movies and this first movie in the proposed Avengers series of movies is a great start.

Robert Downey Jr. was a great choice to play Tony Stark/Iron Man because they have similar backgrounds.

The re-imagining of the Iron Man origin story is done extremely well.  The story has been transplanted to the war in the Middle East.  The technology and special effects used also seem nicely updated to the real world and it is conceivable that it could work in our day and age making this seem move real than fictional.

I always like how science has advanced to a point where much science fiction no longer seems completely that, but rather plausible in our day and age.

The one (minor) flaw in this movie is that the bad guy doesn’t seem to be much of a one on one threat to Stark and seems to just be tacked on for the sake of needing a fight with the bad guy.

Downey and the rest of the cast make this movie very fun and enjoyable to watch.

The effects and action are truly top notch.

Bottom Line – Very fitting entrance film into the Avengers Universe. Great characters, great action and just plain fun. Highly recommended!!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here

12 thoughts on “Iron Man (2008)

  1. Good Review Rob! I will admit that I have not seen any of the Iron Man films. I did see The Avengers, and Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man was about the only thing that I liked about that movie. I’m not huge on superhero movies. I do own Iron Man, I just have yet to watch it. I’m sure I’ll probably like it, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

    Like

    • Hey Brock, Thanks for commenting.

      yeah, I know the feeling of having tons of movies to watch and not enough time to watch them. Iron Man (2008) is a very fun movie if you’re looking for something like that.

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Avengers (2012) | MovieRob

  3. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2008 |

  5. Pingback: MovieRob Milestone Marathon – Countdown to 6K (#1 of 23) – Iron Man (2008) – Encore Review | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.