The Avengers (2012)


the-avengers-1235-wallmages“I’ve been asleep for 70 years. I think I’ve had enough rest.” – Steve Rogers

Number of Times Seen – 2 (19 Aug 2012 and 9 Jan 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A band of superheroes join together when an alien threat appears in New York.

My Take on it – The cinematic buildup to this movie was completely unprecedented.

In order to make this movie work so well, Marvel had to first make 5, (yes I said 5) other movies that show the solo origins of the four main superheroes; Iron Man (2008), The Incredible Hulk (2008), Iron Man 2 (2010), Thor (2011) and Captain America: The First Avenger (2011).

While it isn’t necessary to see all of these movies in order to understand this movie, it only can be helpful. These 6 movies are the most profitable franchise in movie history so far.

I grew up on comic books in the late 70’s and early 80’s and these were some of the characters that I loved to follow their stories.

In my opinion, one of the most successful aspects of this movie was being able to cast actors who in this film need to share screen time with the other actors who all carried their own origin movies.  In this day and age, that isn’t an easy feat with the egos of actor.

Tom Hiddleston returns as Loki [from Thor (2011)] and is a great and formidable villain.

This is a MUST SEE movie for superhero fans.

I’m looking forward to more movies in the series.

Bottom Line – Shows how worthwhile the 5 solo origin movies were.  We get an action packed Superhero movie that proves that they are still on the upclimb. One of the best in the series. Highly Recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here

12 thoughts on “The Avengers (2012)

  1. Pingback: Iron Man 3 (2013) – Encore Viewing | MovieRob

  2. Love, love, LOVE The Avengers. It’s funny–I was totally convinced that this film wasn’t going to work. I didn’t even want to see it, but then everyone was raving about it so I caved and went to the theater…and it was just so good. Glad that you’re a fan, too! 😀

    Like

    • 4 times!!! wow, if I started watching movies 4 times each, I don’t think I’d find time to watch many other new movies.

      Glad you liked it, it truly is a great film.

      Thanks again for stopping by

      Like

  3. Pingback: Thor: The Dark World (2013) | MovieRob

  4. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z | MovieRob

  5. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2012 |

  6. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – December 2017 – Samuel L. Jackson

  7. Pingback: MovieRob Milestone Marathon – Countdown to 6K (#6 of 23) – The Avengers (2012) – Encore Review | MovieRob

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.