A Thousand Words (2012)


A Thousand Words “I guess you never know if the last time you see someone is going to be the last time you ever see someone” – Jack McCall

Number of Times Seen – 1 (19 May 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A literary agent is cursed and finds new meaning to the phrase ‘watching your words’ when he tricks a spiritual guru into making a deal with him.

My Take on it – When I saw the premise of this movie, I was intrigued even though it seems to fit the usual “Scrooge” type of plot.

I actually enjoyed this more than expected because Eddie Murphy was perfect in the title role.  he easily can play both the deceptive kind of guy and the one who realizes his mistakes.

The movie fits the formula for this genre of movies, but nevertheless is filled with some humorous scenes and then you have Clark Duke, who steals every scene he is in as Murphy’s hilarious assistant.

Not a movie that would have won awards, but still a fun outing.

Bottom Line – Murphy is perfectly cast in this movie.  It’s completely a formulaic movie, but still works because of its few unique quirks. Recommended!

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

4 thoughts on “A Thousand Words (2012)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2012 |

  3. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – April 2020 – Eddie Murphy

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.