Looper (2012)


 looper-poster1“I don’t want to talk about time travel because if we start talking about it then we’re going to be here all day talking about it, making diagrams with straws.” – Older Joe

Number of Times Seen – 2 (2 Nov 2012 and 6 Jul 2014)

Brief Synopsis – In the not so distant future, hit-men are hired to kill people sent back in time from a future where time travel exists.

My Take on it – I have always been a big fan of the time travel genre whether it be in books, comics, tv or movies, the endless possibilities always fascinated me.

Yes, I am aware of the many possible paradoxes that could come about if you ‘fiddle’ with time travel too much, but there are so many movies that have taken the concept to even higher levels.

This movie ranks high on that list.

In the world created for this story, there is no problem meeting your future self, there is no problem knowing that time travel will exist and there is also no problem changing the future to effect the past.

This movie utilizes many time travel genre techniques extremely well that it leaves the viewer asking so many questions, wanted to know and understand the ‘science’ much better.

The choice of Joseph Gordon Levitt and Bruce Willis as the main character (s) was a great choice and it works well in this setting.

The concept is extremely original and writer/director Rian Johnson is definitely someone we should all keep our eyes on because great things should come from him in the future. He was recently chosen to join the new Star Wars universe movie and I’m anxious to see what gems await us from. Him.

Bottom Line – Amazing time travel concept that presents so many poignant questions. JGL and Willis are great together. Very original idea. Cant wait to see what other gems await us from director Rian Johnson. Highly Recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

33 thoughts on “Looper (2012)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Hey, Rob. Totally agreed on Looper. Such a great flick, one of my Top 5 from 2012.

    Also, I would argue great things already have come from Rian Johnson. Brick is genius. Looper is better. And his three episodes of Breaking Bad, in my opinion, form three of the show’s best. (One of them, The Fly, is probably the most divisive in the show’s run. Count me in the camp that considers utterly amazing.)

    Like

  3. Great review, Rob! Glad to hear you’re a fan of this one. Very fun film, and I absolutely LOVE Gordon-Levitt as young Bruce Willis. I think he captures Willis perfectly–even if they had to give him those blue contacts, which kind of freaked me out. Lol. A fantastic sci-fi film (though kind of depressing).

    Like

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2012 |

  5. Pingback: Darren and Rob’s Movie Challenge Week #2 – Rob’s Challenge – The Brothers Bloom (2008) |

  6. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Actor – Oscars 2012 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.