Serendipity (2001)


serendipity“And if you’re smart enough, you learn from your mistakes. You figure it out. You… you think. You realize that life isn’t some elaborate stage play with directions for the actors. Life’s a mess, Sara. It’s… it’s chaos personified. ” – Eve

Number of Times Seen – At least 10 times (20 Jul 2002, DVD and 15 Jul 2014)

Brief Synopsis – After two strangers meet and start to fall for one another, they begin to wonder whether they are meant to be together and decide to let fate step in.

My Take on it – This is one of my favorite rom-coms because it tells an amazing love story with a twist.

How much influence do we have on our own lives? Do we control our own destiny? Does the universe send us signs to help direct us?

There are some of the important questions that this movie posits.

As the romantic lead John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale have great chemistry together. But more importantly Cusack has great Chemistry with Jeremy Piven and Beckinsale works great with Molly Shannon.

I love the music in this movie and even own the soundtrack.

Bottom Line – Great rom-com that asks the question of how much fate and divine intervention play a role in our lives. Great chemistry among the cast and excellent music. Highly recommended!

Rating – Oscar Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

10 thoughts on “Serendipity (2001)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Great post! I found this movie so stretched out and exhausting. It was one of those cases where I was desperately wishing it would just come to an end. Eventually I couldn’t care less if they ended up together.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2001 |

  4. Pingback: Serendipity (2001) – Encore Review |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.