Training Day (2001)


 training Day“There are evil people walking the street, I don’t handicap myself with rules” – Det. Alonzo Harris

Number of Times Seen – 2 (5 Jun 2002 and 22 Jul 2014)

Brief Synopsis – An undercover cop on his first day with a new training partner learns how things really work on the mean streets of L.A.

My Take on it – I’m not the biggest fan of Denzel Washington. I think that in most if his movies, he plays his characters exactly the same and it seems as if he isnt even acting, he’s just being himself.

This is one of the few movies where that isn’t true at all. In this movie, he was totally cast against type as a rough undercover police officer who has been on the streets for possibly too long. In some scenes it’s hard to even realize that it’s Denzel in front of us.

For this role, he became only the second African-American to win a best actor in a leading role oscar. He also became the first African American actor to win two acting Oscars since he already had won one for his supporting role in Glory (1989).

Ethan Hawke is also great to watch here as the inexperienced undercover cop on his first day on assignment.

This movie is gripping and it’s very interesting to see the perspective and stance of the film.

Although it isn’t perfect, it’s still enjoyable to watch especially the performance of Washington.

Bottom Line – Interesting and gripping story of undercover police work and how it affects those on assignment. Washington is excellent here and was deserving of his best actor Oscar for this role. Movie isn’t perfect but still enjoyable. Recommended!

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

12 thoughts on “Training Day (2001)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. ‘King Kong ain’t got shit on me!’ Classic. What a great film (although I was a little let down in the final seconds) Washington is superb in it, as is Hawke (I used to rather dislike Hawke) and it was nice to see Scott Glenn again

    Like

  3. Pingback: Oscar Best Acting Winners |

  4. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2001 |

  5. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Actor – Oscars 2001 |

  6. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Supporting Actor – Oscars 2001 |

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.