The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014)


 grand budapest hotel“Keep your hands off my lobby boy!” – M. Gustave

Number of Times Seen –1  (11 Aug 2014)

Brief Synopsis – A story within a story within a story of a lobby boy and the concierge he served in a popular hotel in Europe on the eve of WWII.

My Take on it – I have never really been a fan of the crazy way Wes Anderson makes movies and truthfully I usually have been turned off by his methods.

This movie is told in a very clever way that makes the viewer interested in what will happen.

It moves at quite a quick pace which makes it essential that you constantly pay attention.

There are at least a dozen cameo roles by famous actors. There, ultimately lies the main fault in this movie. The viewer becomes so preoccupied with looking for the cameos that the story becomes secondary to the ‘find the famous actor in costume game’.

If Anderson has stuck with just a few key celebrities in the main roles and filled the rest of the cast with unknowns, it would have been an excellent movie IMHO.

Bottom Line – Anderson likes to use rapid-fire techniques to try and keep things going, not my style, but the film is entertaining nevertheless with a great ensemble cast. Cleverly planned tale that is interestingly constructed but ultimately feels like a ploy to endlessly showcase cameo after cameo. Recommended!

Rating – Globe Worthy

_______________________________________

Check out my *updated* movie stats here

To see my reviews of Oscar Winning Performances check out this link

To see my reviews of all Oscar Best Picture Winners click here (now complete)

Here is a link to my movie index A-Z

15 thoughts on “The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014)

  1. Pingback: Movies Reviewed Index A-Z |

  2. Oh man! Oscar Worthy for sure! Loved this one to pieces. Actually, it’s my film of the year so far. It is a little cameo heavy, perhaps, but it’s mostly the same people Anderson usually works with, so I wasn’t thrown off by them. Fiennes is perfect in it–so perfect that I’m hoping for an Oscar nod, but we’ll see…

    Like

    • It was good, just not Great in my opinion. As I said, I’m not the biggest fan of his, so maybe parts of that were lost on me. Fiennes was great here, definitely different than his usual characters

      Like

  3. Pingback: Temporal Top Ten – 2014 |

  4. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Picture – Oscars 2014 |

  5. Pingback: Did They Get it Right? – Best Director – Oscars 2014 |

  6. Pingback: The Large Association of Movie Blogs | Acting School 101 – August 2018 – Edward Norton

Let me Know what you think!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.